Monday, 1 May 2017

Thumb Tripping - Don Mitchell

A dazzling novel of the American Road in the tradition of Jack Kerouac and Easy Rider


PANTHER BOOKS 586 03687 3
FIRST PRINTING 1972
LONDON, UK
ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED IN HARDBACK BY JONATHAN CAPE 1971

A Road Odyssey

California. Summer. A young man and a beautiful girl, hitch-hiking along the coast. A time of sunshine, sleeping out in a shared sleeping bag, making love in the open air. A time to get high - on scenery, on each other, on pot. But sometimes things get out of hand. A lift from a queer warlock becomes an excruciating experience of sexual embarrassment...a burly truck driver out of his skull on speed gets horny for the girl...a lift from a clean-living all-American family turns into a nightmare alcoholic binge...and that's not all. Not by a long way....

Funny and terrifying by turns, Don Mitchell's award-winning novel (soon to be a major movie) is one of the most entertaining and thoughtful pieces of writing to come out of the new youth scene.

No comments:

Post a Comment